Countdown to Referendum Day








What is a Referendum?

A referendum is an election in which the People vote on the question whether they approve a Bill passed by the Lower House and Senate to amend the Constitution.

What is Constitution Reform?

Constitutional reform refers to the modification of the constitution of a nation or state.

When is the vote?

Grenada votes on Constitution Reform on November 24th, 2016.

There are eight (8) Bills for amendment of the constitution.

Seven (7) Bills will be voted on in the Referendum on November 24th 2016.

You can find the bills in their entirety HERE

Bill 1. CCJ and Other Justice Related Matters

Bill 2. Elections and Boundaries Commission

Bill 3. Ensuring a Leader of the Opposition

Bill 4. Fixed Date for Elections

Bill 5. Name of State

Bill 6. Rights and Freedoms

Bill 7. Term of Office of Prime Minister


The Referendum in a Nutshell

THE SEVEN CONSTITUTION AMENDMENT BILLS 2016 Referendum Day is Thursday 24th November 2016. Citizens will be asked to cast their ballot to vote Yes or No to each of the seven constitutional amendment Bills. The bills seek to amend the Grenada’s Constitution to: Improve...

read more

Establish protocol……

Upon accepting the invitation to speak to you on why constitutional reform is important for national development, I was thrown in a state of deep introspection to clearly understand the topic. I asked myself on many occasions, how can a process that over the last weeks has become so controversial develop our nation? I managed to come up with some points which I will share with you.

read more


I was advised today, Wednesday, 19th October, 2016, by Her Excellency the Governor-General that the seven writs issued on Friday, 23rd September, 2016, have been revoked. Her Excellency has commanded me to inform the general public of Grenada that today, 19th October,...

read more


GENDER EQUALITY IN THE GRENADIAN REFERENDUM by DR FRANCIS ALEXIS QC 10 Oct 16 GENDER EQUALITY PROPOSAL 1. This article addresses one of the proposals being discussed regarding the Grenadian constitutional referendum coming up on the 24th. That is the proposal in the...

read more
Do you feel like you understand the impact of Constitution Reform?